24th May 2019
Make a Donation

Foreign partners to be in 28 states review committee

Author : Junior Ali | Published: 3 years ago

President Salva Kiir and his two deputies have agreed to form a committee to review the 28 states.

The committee is made up of 15 members, including members of the international community.

Besides the 28 states, the committee will also look into the issues of releasing the prisoners of war, political detainees and cantonment sites for both government and the opposition forces.

“President Salva Kiir, First Vice President Machar and the Vice president Igga, met ……very extensively to discuss a number of issues as part of implementing the peace agreement

including the issue 28 states and the release of what is called ‘Prisoners of War’; captives, and then the issue of the security arrangement; the cantonment areas,” the Press Secretary in the Office of the President, Ateny Wek, told Eye Radio during an interview.

Soon after the meeting, the First Vice President Dr. Riek Machar told reporters that committee will also address the state of emergency in the Greater upper Nile region of the country which was imposed in 2014.

Mr. Machar said the 15 members of the committee would include ten South Sudanese from the parties in the peace deal and five others from the international partners.

There is also ongoing discussion to include South Africa and Tanzania in the committee, which is expected to report back to the presidency within 30 days.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.