26th October 2020
Make a Donation

TNLA incorporates 10 states into constitution

Author: Koang Pal | Published: Thursday, February 20, 2020

The current parliament building in Juba | Credit | Eye Radio

The TNLA just passed a bill that incorporates into the Transitional Constitution the resolution of the presidency that returns the country to 10 states and three administrative areas.

The three ares are Abyei, Pibor and Ruweng.

Presidnet Salva Kiir issued a decree on 15 February, returning the country to 10 states+ and later on firing the 32 governors through a separate decree.

The Council of Ministers endorsed the resolution on Wednesday, and directed the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Paulino Wanawilla, to table the bill before the parliament for approval.

Lawmakers at the Transitional National Legislative Assembly endorsed it moments ago.

Support Eye Radio, the first independent radio broadcaster of news, information & entertainment in South Sudan.

Make a monthly or a one off contribution.